Word For Today: Thursday, August 10 But Who Do You Say I Am?

WORD FOR TODAY by PASTOR JESUS FIGUEROA

DEVOCIONAL DAILY * WWW.JESUSFIGUEROA.ORG

Thursday, August 10

But Who Do You Say I Am?

 Topic: Discipleship Is Very Personal

He said to them, “But who do you say that I am?” Peter answered and said to Him, “You are the Christ.”

Mark 8:29 (NKJV)

Daily Reading Plan

Isaiah 57-60

Bible Versions:

Mark 8:29 (NKJV)-29 He said to them, “But who do you say that I am?” Peter answered and said to Him, “You are the Christ.”

Mark 8:29 (NLT)-29 Then he asked them, “But who do you say I am?” Peter replied, “You are the Messiah.”

Mark 8:29 (MSG)-29 He then asked, “And you—what are you saying about me? Who am I?” Peter gave the answer: “You are the Christ, the Messiah.”

Devotional Thoughts:

This morning it is important to remember that discipleship is very personal, it is one to one, it is being able to ask the difficult questions, to know where one is. There is a certain aspect of discipleship where one must deal in a close and very personal way; we see that Jesus took this approach! With his disciples he was continually dealing with his spiritual growth. Jesus’ discipleship style was distinctive because of the personal emphasis he placed on dealing with those who chose to follow him closely. He was continually seeing where they were, the state of their heart, their commitment to discipleship was very important!

We see that for Jesus his disciples were the closest to his heart, his dealing with them was very personal. In Matthew 12: 49-50 he states, ” And He stretched out His hand toward His disciples and said, “Here are My mother and My brothers! For whoever does the will of My Father in heaven is My brother and sister and mother.” For Jesus, his disciples were the closest, he spent much time with them, He dealt with them having love and commitment to them, until He was able to see that they understood the spiritual truths.

We must never forget that discipleship does not happen in the midst of the multitudes, discipleship is very personal! It takes place when we allow someone to deal with areas of our lives that still need to grow and mature. The Holy Spirit wants to use people that surround us to help in our spiritual development. One must form a closeness with mature believers who will accompany us our spiritual journey and aid us so we will not to stay spiritually stagnant, but that will ask us the difficult questions!

Our Lord Jesus Christ came to establish a very special closeness with his disciples, to the level they develop a close relationship, He became a real and genuine friend with his disciples! In John 15: 14-15 he told his disciples, ” You are My friends if you do whatever I command you.  No longer do I call you servants, for a servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all things that I heard from My Father I have made known to you.” This is the key to discipleship, it is not the multitudes, it is one to one!

Foundational Scriptures:

John 6:69 (NKJV)-69 Also we have come to believe and know that You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.”

John 11:27 (NKJV)-27 She said to Him, “Yes, Lord, I believe that You are the Christ, the Son of God, who is to come into the world.”

Mark 8:29 (NKJV)-29 He said to them, “But who do you say that I am?” Peter answered and said to Him, “You are the Christ.”

John 14:23 (NKJV)-23 Jesus answered and said to him, “If anyone loves Me, he will keep My word; and My Father will love him, and We will come to him and make Our home with him.

James 2:23 (NKJV)-23 And the Scripture was fulfilled which says, “Abraham believed God, and it was accounted to him for righteousness.”[a] And he was called the friend of God.

John 15:14 (NKJV)-14 You are My friends if you do whatever I command you.

I invite you to share this devotional today! You can do it on Facebook, Twitter, or by email. Just press one of the buttons below … Be a Blessing to Others, Send Your Word, and remember it never comes back void!

2 responses to “Word For Today: Thursday, August 10 But Who Do You Say I Am?

  1. We must establish spiritual authority when disciplining others!! We cannot be there only as a friend, we must be the ones that ask the difficult questions!!

Llene La Parte Inferior de esta Pagina, Si Desea Poner Su Comentarios, Testimonio, Pensamientos (Para El Publico, o sea que aparezcan en esta pagina para que otros puedan leer y ser bendecidos)

