Word For Today: Tuesday, June 27 I Have Finished The Race

WORD FOR TODAY by PASTOR JESUS FIGUEROA

DEVOCIONAL DAILY * WWW.JESUSFIGUEROA.ORG

Tuesday, June 27

I Have Finished The Race

Topic: How Will We Finish Our Race?

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.

2 Timothy 4: 7 (NKJV)

Daily Reading Plan

Psalms 74-77

Bible Versions:

(NIV)-I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.

 (NLT)-I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, and I have remained faithful.

(MSG)- 7 This is the only race worth running. I’ve run hard right to the finish, believed all the way.

Devotional Thoughts:

In this portion of the Scripture, the Apostle Paul says his last words to Timothy, his son in the faith, letting him know that his departure with the Lord was close. His last words were, that he had fought the good fight and reached his mark! This was always his desire, to finish well and not to be distracted by anything. He declared in Philippians 3: 13-14, “Brethren, I do not count myself to have apprehended; but one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead, I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.”

In spite of everything that happened to the Apostle Paul, good times as bad,  he never took his eyes off the prize. He always ran the race with the end in mind. He never only lived in the present, but his focus was continually in the future! He had the conviction that one day his race would end, and he had to finish it well! In 1 Corinthians 9:27, the Apostle Paul declared, “ But I discipline my body and bring it into subjection, lest, when I have preached to others, I myself should become disqualified.” He desire to finish his race with honors, without regrets or overwhelmed by what he could have done for the Lord.

Today we have to be more aware of this truth, one day our race will end here on earth! We will all have to face the end of our lives sooner or later. The question is, how are we going to end our race? And we should not ask this question in the last hours of life, it should be done while we have a future ahead. There are people who remember this, when it is too late, when they lived their lives in their own way, but it is necessary to keep this in mind today! This morning we must have our eyes on the end, so we can successfully end our race of faith.

In 1 Corinthians 9:24 it tells us, “ Do you not know that those who run in a race all run, but one receives the prize? Run in such a way that you may obtain it.”  Today we must run for the prize, we must reflect how we are leading our lives! May we take the right path, do the will of God and at the end of our life get the crown of eternal life.

Foundational Scriptures:

1 Timothy 6:12 (NKJV)-12 Fight the good fight of faith, lay hold on eternal life, to which you were also called and have confessed the good confession in the presence of many witnesses.

John 4:34 (NKJV)-34 Jesus said to them, “My food is to do the will of Him who sent Me, and to finish His work.

Acts 13:25 (NKJV)-25 And as John was finishing his course, he said, ‘Who do you think I am? I am not He. But behold, there comes One after me, the sandals of whose feet I am not worthy to loose.’

Acts 20:24 (NKJV)-24 But none of these things move me; nor do I count my life dear to myself,[a] so that I may finish my race with joy, and the ministry which I received from the Lord Jesus, to testify to the gospel of the grace of God.

1 Corinthians 9:24 (NKJV)-24 Do you not know that those who run in a race all run, but one receives the prize? Run in such a way that you may obtain it.

1 Corinthians 9:27 (NKJV)-27 But I discipline my body and bring it into subjection, lest, when I have preached to others, I myself should become disqualified.

Philippians 3:13-14 (NKJV)-13 Brethren, I do not count myself to have apprehended; but one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead, 14 I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.

Hebrews 12:1-2 (NKJV)-12 Therefore we also, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which so easily ensnares us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, 2 looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.

1 Timothy 1:18-19 (NKJV)-18 This charge I commit to you, son Timothy, according to the prophecies previously made concerning you, that by them you may wage the good warfare, 19 having faith and a good conscience, which some having rejected, concerning the faith have suffered shipwreck.

Remember SHARE! On Facebook, Twitter, Email press one of the buttons below … Share with your FRIENDS, be a Blessing…

One response to “Word For Today: Tuesday, June 27 I Have Finished The Race

  1. I will continue to keep my eyes fixed on God!! For I know that one day my race will come to an end, and I plan on pleasing God with the life that I have lived!!

Llene La Parte Inferior de esta Pagina, Si Desea Poner Su Comentarios, Testimonio, Pensamientos (Para El Publico, o sea que aparezcan en esta pagina para que otros puedan leer y ser bendecidos)

