Word For Today: Friday, May 19 You Are My Friends

WORD FOR TODAY by PASTOR JESUS ​​FIGUEROA

DEVOCIONAL DAILY * WWW.JESUSFIGUEROA.ORG

Friday, May 19

You Are My Friends

Topic: We Are No Servants, But Friends! 

You are My friends if you do whatever I command you. No longer do I call you servants, for a servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all things that I heard from My Father I have made known to you.

John 15: 14-15 

Daily Reading Plan

2 Chronicles 29-31

Bible Versions:

John 15:14-15 (NIV)-14 You are my friends if you do what I command. 15 I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business. Instead, I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you.

John 15:14-15 (NLT)-14 You are my friends if you do what I command. 15 I no longer call you slaves, because a master doesn’t confide in his slaves. Now you are my friends, since I have told you everything the Father told me.

John 15:14-15 (NET Bible)-14 You are my friends if you do what I command you. 15 I no longer call you slaves, because the slave does not understand what his master is doing. But I have called you friends, because I have revealed to you everything I heard from my Father.

Devotional Thoughts:

Today the word friend is used very common in our society. We live in a world of social networks where it’s easy to say, I have many friends! But the Bible teaches us different; in its pages we discover that friendship is something close, intimate and relational. Our Lord Jesus gives us this example; he called his disciples friends only until there was closeness, obedience, and significance in the relationship with Him. In John 14:21 it tells us, “He who has My commandments and keeps them, it is he who loves Me. And he who loves Me will be loved by My Father, and I will love him and manifest Myself to him.”

Jesus’ relationship with his disciples became one of intimacy and trust, they were no longer servants, but genuine friends of the Lord! We know that a servant only executes orders and knows nothing of the plans and reasons of his Master, simply receives and executes his orders, but the friend is different! It was on the basis of this friendship that Jesus revealed himself to them. He taught them the mysteries of the kingdom. In Matthew 13:11 he tells us, ” He answered and said to them, “Because it has been given to you to know the mysteries of the kingdom of heaven, but to them it has not been given. “

This morning we must continually grow in our friendship with God, remember that we are no longer servants, but friends! Today we can enjoy a sweet friendship with the Holy Spirit, He will reveal things that we need to know, it will open our spiritual eyes. In John 16: 12-13, Jesus declared to his disciples, ” I still have many things to say to you, but you cannot bear them now. However, when He, the Spirit of truth, has come, He will guide you into all truth; for He will not speak on His own authority, but whatever He hears He will speak; and He will tell you things to come.”  Let us make a commitment today to invest in our friendship with God, to spend more time alone with Him. It is only in His presence that we will be able to strengthen our friendship with Him.

 Foundational Scriptures:

Romans 8:15 (NKJV)-15 For you did not receive the spirit of bondage again to fear, but you received the Spirit of adoption by whom we cry out, “Abba, Father.”

Galatians 4:6-7 (NKJV)-And because you are sons, God has sent forth the Spirit of His Son into your hearts, crying out, “Abba, Father!” Therefore you are no longer a slave but a son, and if a son, then an heir of God through Christ.

Amos 3:7 (NKJV)-Surely the Lord God does nothing; Unless He reveals His secret to His servants the prophets.

Matthew 13:11 (NKJV)-11 He answered and said to them, “Because it has been given to you to know the mysteries of the kingdom of heaven, but to them it has not been given.

Ephesians 3:5 (NKJV)-which in other ages was not made known to the sons of men, as it has now been revealed by the Spirit to His holy apostles and prophets:

Exodus 33:11 (NKJV)-11 So the Lord spoke to Moses face to face, as a man speaks to his friend. And he would return to the camp, but his servant Joshua the son of Nun, a young man, did not depart from the tabernacle.

2 Chronicles 20:7 (NKJV)-Are You not our God, who drove out the inhabitants of this land before Your people Israel, and gave it to the descendants of Abraham Your friend forever?

Isaiah 41:8 (NKJV)-“But you, Israel, are My servant, Jacob whom I have chosen, The descendants of Abraham My friend.

I invite you to share this devotional today! You can do it on Facebook, Twitter, or by email … Just press one of the buttons below … Be a blessing to others, Send and remember the Word never to returns void!

Llene La Parte Inferior de esta Pagina, Si Desea Poner Su Comentarios, Testimonio, Pensamientos (Para El Publico, o sea que aparezcan en esta pagina para que otros puedan leer y ser bendecidos)

