Word For Today: Wednesday, January 4 He Heard My Voice From His Temple

4499590_orig

WORD FOR TODAY by PASTOR JESUS FIGUEROA

DAILY DEVOTIONAL * WWW.JESUSFIGUEROA.ORG

Wednesday, January 4

He Heard My Voice From His Temple

Topic: Our Dependence on the Holy Spirit arises from a feeling of insufficiency and incapacity

In my distress I called upon the Lord, and cried to my God. He heard my voice from his temple, and my cry came before him into his ears.

Psalms 18: 6 (NKJV)

Daily Reading Plan

Genesis 10-12

Bible Versions:

Psalm 18:6(KJV)6- In my distress I called upon the Lord, and cried unto my God: he heard my voice out of his temple, and my cry came before him, even into his ears.

Psalm 18:6 (NIV)-In my distress I called to the Lord; I cried to my God for help.  From his temple he heard my voice; my cry came before him, into his ears.

Psalm 18:6 (NLT) 6- But in my distress I cried out to the Lord; yes, I prayed to my God for help.  He heard me from his sanctuary; my cry to him reached his ears.

Devotional Thought:

Have you ever felt overwhelmed, not knowing whom to turn to for help? The Psalmist on this occasion felt surrounded by dangers as the previous verses teach us, “ The pangs of death surrounded me, And the floods of ungodliness made me afraid.” The sorrows of Sheol surrounded me; The snares of death confronted me. (Psalm 18: 4-5). It was clear that David was in alarming need of divine intervention from the Lord. No one else could help him; no one else could rescue him from the danger he was in. In the depths of his being, there was a feeling of inability, of feeling incapable of facing the dangerous situations he faced.

It was in this situation of anguish and anxiety that he cried out for the help of God. In the midst of great adversity, his prayer went up to heaven for help from the Lord! He did not sink, or became depressed during his struggle, he did the right thing in his desperation he called out for help, for God’s intervention! He was sure that his help would come during his inability to deal with adverse situations. Psalm 107: 4-6 also gives us an example of the people of Israel and how they were rescued, “They were lost through the wilderness, through the solitude without a road, without finding a city to live. Hungry and thirsty, their soul fainted in them. Then they cried unto the Lord in their distress, and He delivered them out of their afflictions. “

Today we can depend  on the help of the Holy Spirit in our lives. We are not alone; we have the best assistance and the greatest support, the Holy Spirit! In every situation we face in the New Year 2017 we can depend on Him. The Father, through His Spirit, strengthens us, guides us and affirms us. In John 14:16 Jesus left us a promise, “And I will pray to the Father, and He shall give you another Comforter, that He may be with you forever.” This morning the Great Comforter dwells in our hearts, all it takes is to seek Him and depend on Him!

Foundational Scriptures

Psalm 107:4-6New King James Version (NKJV)-4They wandered in the wilderness in a desolate way; They found no city to dwell in. Hungry and thirsty, Their soul fainted in them.  Then they cried out to the Lord in their trouble, And He delivered them out of their distresses.

Psalm 116:6(NKJV)-The Lord preserves the simple; I was brought low, and He saved me.

Mark 4:38-39 (NKJV)-38 But He was in the stern, asleep on a pillow. And they awoke Him and said to Him, “Teacher, do You not care that we are perishing?”

39 Then He arose and rebuked the wind, and said to the sea, “Peace, be still!” And the wind ceased and there was a great calm.

Matthew 9:20-21(NKJV)-20 And suddenly, a woman who had a flow of blood for twelve years came from behind and touched the hem of His garment. 21 For she said to herself, “If only I may touch His garment, I shall be made well.”

Mark 9:17-18New King James Version (NKJV) 17 Then one in the crowd answered and said, “Teacher, I brought You my son, who has a mute spirit. 18 And wherever it seizes him, it throws him down; he foams at the mouth, gnashes his teeth, and becomes rigid. So I spoke to Your disciples, that they should cast it out, but they could not.”

Romans 7:18(NKJV)-18 For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh) nothing good dwells; for to will is present with me, but how to perform what is good I do not find.

Remember SHARE! On Facebook, Twitter, Email press one of the buttons below … Share with your FRIENDS, be a Blessing …

2 responses to “Word For Today: Wednesday, January 4 He Heard My Voice From His Temple

  1. Thank You Lord for always hearing my cries and holding me in Your precious warm arms 🙌🙌🙌
    Psalm 18:6 (NLT)
    6 But in my distress I cried out to the Lord;
    yes, I prayed to my God for help.
    He heard me from his sanctuary;
    my cry to him reached his ears.

Llene La Parte Inferior de esta Pagina, Si Desea Poner Su Comentarios, Testimonio, Pensamientos (Para El Publico, o sea que aparezcan en esta pagina para que otros puedan leer y ser bendecidos)

