Word For Today: Monday, August 22 You Shall Not Fulfill the Lust of the Flesh

Man standing in a field of barley at sunset.

WORD FOR TODAY by PASTOR JESUS FIGUEROA

DAILY DEVOTIONAL * WWW.JESUSFIGUEROA.ORG

Monday, August 22

You Shall Not Fulfill the Lust of the Flesh

Topic: The Spiritual Life Requires A Walk In The Spirit

16 I say then: Walk in the Spirit, and you shall not fulfill the lust of the flesh. 17 For the flesh lusts against the Spirit, and the Spirit against the flesh; and these are contrary to one another, so that you do not do the things that you wish.

Galatians 5:16–17 (NKJV)

Daily Bible Reading Plan

Jeremiah 35-38

Bible Versions:

Galatians 5:16-17(NLT) 16 So I say, let the Holy Spirit guide your lives. Then you won’t be doing what your sinful nature craves. 17 The sinful nature wants to do evil, which is just the opposite of what the Spirit wants. And the Spirit gives us desires that are the opposite of what the sinful nature desires. These two forces are constantly fighting each other, so you are not free to carry out your good intentions.

Thoughts Of Devotion:

Walking in the Spirit is the way to experience victory over the desires and inclinations toward evil and sin. The Bible clearly shows us that this is the only way that we should walk as believers to live a life of complete victory. It is only when we give in and we assist in the person of the Holy Spirit that we can be free from the dominion of the desires of our sinful nature. Walking in the Spirit according to W. McDonald, “is to let Him have His way. Is to remain in communion with Him. Is to make decisions in the light of His holiness. It is to be occupied with Christ because the Spirit’s ministry is to occupy the believer with the Lord Jesus. “

When you start this walk according to the text this morning one will have a lot of opposition. Even the apostle Paul went through moments in his life where he said “For what I am doing, I do not understand. For what I will to do, that I do not practice; but what I hate, that I do (Romans 7:15). There will be times where the desires of our flesh will wish to dominate and take us captives to satisfy the lusts and desires in our hearts. It will be a war of two natures, the new nature against the old! My question is, which of the two will win the first place? To which of them will we yield our desires?

The consequences will be very serious and will cause us much harm in our lives if we do not give in and walk in the Spirit, “For if you live according to the flesh you will die; but if by the Spirit you put to death the deeds of the body, you will live” (Romans 8:13). My prayer this morning is that we believe his word, Philippians 2:13, “for it is God who works in you both to will and to do for His good pleasure. We must understand that with the aid and assistance of the Holy Spirit, we are able to overcome the flesh. Nothing is impossible if we seek God’s presence quietly in prayer and devotion. The Holy Spirit has the power to enable us!

Foundational Scriptures:

Romans 7:18-19 (NKJV) 18 For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh) nothing good dwells; for to will is present with me, but how to perform what is good I do not find. 19 For the good that I will to do, I do not do; but the evil I will not to do, that I practice.

Romans 7:23 (NKJV) 23 But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members.

Romans 8:5 (NKJV) For those who live according to the flesh set their minds on the things of the flesh, but those who live according to the Spirit, the things of the Spirit.

Psalm 119:5 (NKJV) Oh, that my ways were directed To keep Your statutes!

Ecclesiastes 7:20 (NKJV) 20 For there is not a just man on earth who does good And does not sin.

I invite you to share this devotional today! You can do this on Facebook, Twitter, or email .. Just click one of the buttons below … Be a blessing to others. Send His word, and remember that it never returns void!

One response to “Word For Today: Monday, August 22 You Shall Not Fulfill the Lust of the Flesh

  1. I will stay close to you God and love according to your favor!! That way I will never leave your side and fall into the temptation of this world!!

Llene La Parte Inferior de esta Pagina, Si Desea Poner Su Comentarios, Testimonio, Pensamientos (Para El Publico, o sea que aparezcan en esta pagina para que otros puedan leer y ser bendecidos)

