Word For Today: Monday, July 11 The Holy Spirit Helps Us

hikers

WORD FOR TODAY by PASTOR JESUS FIGUEROA

DAILY DEVOTIONAL * WWW.JESUSFIGUEROA.ORG

Monday, July 11

The Holy Spirit Helps Us

Topic: The Holy Spirit Is Our Helper

Likewise the Spirit also helps in our weaknesses. For we do not know what we should pray for as we ought, but the Spirit Himself makes intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered. Now He who searches the hearts knows what the mind of the Spirit is, because He makes intercession for the saints according to the will of God.

Romans 8:26-27 (NKJV)

Daily Reading Plan

Psalms 137-143

Bible Versions:

Romans 8:26–27 (NLT) — 26 And the Holy Spirit helps us in our weakness. For example, we don’t know what God wants us to pray for. But the Holy Spirit prays for us with groanings that cannot be expressed in words. And the Father who knows all hearts knows what the Spirit is saying, for the Spirit pleads for us believers in harmony with God’s own will.

Romans 8:26–27 (NIV) — 26 In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans. And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for God’s people in accordance with the will of God.

Romans 8:26–27 (MSG) — 26 Meanwhile, the moment we get tired in the waiting, God’s Spirit is right alongside helping us along. If we don’t know how or what to pray, it doesn’t matter. He does our praying in and for us, making prayer out of our wordless sighs, our aching groans. He knows us far better than we know ourselves, knows our pregnant condition, and keeps us present before God.

Thoughts Of Devotion:

How many of us have weaknesses? I believe if we are sincere with ourselves we can confess that we have many weaknesses! How many times have we not failed in areas of our lives, in a number of difficulties and problems. This reminds me of what Romans 7:18-19 tells us, “For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh) nothing good dwells; for to will is present with me, but how to perform what is good I do not find. For the good that I will to do, I do not do; but the evil I will not to do, that I practice.”

On occasions the desire is in us to do good, but there isn’t the capacity to do it! It’s frustrating and sad to live a life without hope to win over our weaknesses. It is for this reason the Holy Spirit dwells in us, to help us in our weaknesses that we have in our lives! Through the power and intercession of the Spirit our weaknesses become strengths. In 2 Corinthians 12:10 it tells us, “Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

Today if there is no hope, it is impossible to win over our weaknesses without the help of the Holy Spirit. He is in our reach to edify our inner being and break things that hold us and limit us. In Ephesians 6:18 it reminds us of the key, “not with eyeservice, as men-pleasers, but as bondservants of Christ, doing the will of God from the heart.” It is in prayer, when we yield to the Holy Spirit our heart that our life will be edifices, we will be spiritually strong! Our weaknesses will be strengths through the work of the Holy Spirit in us.

Foundational Scriptures:

John 7:39 (NKJV) – But this He spoke concerning the Spirit, whom those believing in Him would receive; for the Holy Spirit was not yet given, because Jesus was not yet glorified.

2 Corinthians 12:9 (NKJV) – And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

2 Corinthians 12:10 (NKJV) – Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

Hebrews 4:15 (NKJV) – For we do not have a High Priest who cannot sympathize with our weaknesses, but was in all points tempted as we are, yet without sin.

Luke 11:1 (NKJV) – Now it came to pass, as He was praying in a certain place, when He ceased, that one of His disciples said to Him, “Lord, teach us to pray, as John also taught his disciples.”

Matthew 20:22 (NKJV) – But Jesus answered and said, “You do not know what you ask. Are you able to drink the cup that I am about to drink, and be baptized with the baptism that I am baptized with?” They said to Him, “We are able.”

John 12:27-28 (NKJV) – Now My soul is troubled, and what shall I say? ‘Father, save Me from this hour’? But for this purpose I came to this hour. Father, glorify Your name.” Then a voice came from heaven, saying, “I have both glorified it and will glorify it again.”

Romans 8:15 (NKJV) – For you did not receive the spirit of bondage again to fear, but you received the Spirit of adoption by whom we cry out, “Abba, Father.”

Ephesians 6:18 (NKJV) – praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, being watchful to this end with all perseverance and supplication for all the saints—

Jude 1:20 (NKJV) – But you, beloved, building yourselves up on your most holy faith, praying in the Holy Spirit,

Luke 22:44 (NKJV) – And being in agony, He prayed more earnestly. Then His sweat became like great drops of blood falling down to the ground.

2 Corinthians 12:4 (NKJV) – how he was caught up into Paradise and heard inexpressible words, which it is not lawful for a man to utter.

1 John 5:14-15 (NKJV) – Now this is the confidence that we have in Him, that if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us. And if we know that He hears us, whatever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we have asked of Him.

I invite you to share this devotional today! You can do this on Facebook, Twitter, or email… Just click one of the buttons below… Be a blessing to others!

2 responses to “Word For Today: Monday, July 11 The Holy Spirit Helps Us

  1. Amen I just thanks God for giving me strength when we are passing through a hard time. also I pray to God to raise up my spiritual level

  2. The lord is my strength, which will never let my down!!!! I know you will always aid and guard me Jesus!!

Llene La Parte Inferior de esta Pagina, Si Desea Poner Su Comentarios, Testimonio, Pensamientos (Para El Publico, o sea que aparezcan en esta pagina para que otros puedan leer y ser bendecidos)

