Word For Today: Tuesday, September 22 Therefore I Run

p-20140709-00184_hires-jpeg-24bit-rgb

WORD FOR TODAY by PASTOR JESUS FIGUEROA

DAILY DEVOTIONAL * WWW.JESUSFIGUEROA.ORG

Tuesday, September 22

Therefore I Run

Topic: The Race Requires Discipline

26 Therefore I run thus: not with uncertainty. Thus I fight: not as one who beats the air.

1 Corinthians 9:26 (NKJV)

Daily Reading Plan

Obadiah 1 – Jonah 1-4

Bible Versions:

1 Corinthians 9:26 (NLT) ― 26 So I run with purpose in every step. I am not just shadowboxing.

1 Corinthians 9:26 (MSG) ― 26 I don’t know about you, but I’m running hard for the finish line. I’m giving it everything I’ve got. No sloppy living for me!

1 Corinthians 9:26 (NIV) ― 26 Therefore I do not run like someone running aimlessly; I do not fight like a boxer beating the air.

Thoughts Of Devotion:

To succeed in the Christian race, great focus and discipline will always be required. We cannot win the race without purpose or by coincidence!  All believers that have advanced in their spiritual path is because they have had discipline and have permitted the Holy Spirit dominate their lives. In 1 Corinthians 9:27, Paul continues, “But I discipline my body and bring it into subjection, lest, when I have preached to others, I myself should become disqualified.” Spiritual discipline is essential for the race that is ahead, without it we will not win.

Every runner must refrain from many things to obtain fitness and strength to win the race. In 1 Corinthians 9:25 it tells us, “And everyone who competes for the prize is temperate in all things. Now they do it to obtain a perishable crown, but we for an imperishable crown.” Today we must examine our lives and ask ourselves, What should we refrain from in our Christian race? What things should we leave to run more freely? Only then can we move forward and reach the goal that is before us. Surely the enemy will try to break us, and bring us to a place where we will abandon the race and be disqualified.

This morning it is important to run the race according to the rules, as is declared in 2 Timothy 2: 5, “And also if anyone competes in athletics, he is not crowned unless he competes according to the rules.” When someone legitimately runs the Christian race, he abstains from all things that could stop him, or worse, disqualify him. In truth no one runs to be disqualified, we all run to win! But everything will depend on how we run the race before us. God has a great reward for those who discipline themselves and are subject to the rules and commandments that He has given us. Only in this way we will obtain an incorruptible crown!

Foundational Scriptures:

2 Timothy 2:5 (NKJV) ― And also if anyone competes in athletics, he is not crowned unless he competes according to the rules.

Hebrews 4:1 (NKJV) ― 4 Therefore, since a promise remains of entering His rest, let us fear lest any of you seem to have come short of it.

1 Corinthians 9:27 (NKJV) ― 27 But I discipline my body and bring it into subjection, lest, when I have preached to others, I myself should become disqualified.

1 Corinthians 9:25 (NKJV) ― 25 And everyone who competes for the prize is temperate in all things. Now they do it to obtain a perishable crown, but we for an imperishable crown.

1 Peter 2:11 (NKJV) ― 11 Beloved, I beg you as sojourners and pilgrims, abstain from fleshly lusts which war against the soul,

I invite you to share this devotional today! You can do this on Facebook, Twitter, or email .. Just click one of the buttons below … Be a blessing to others. Send His word, and remember that it never returns void!

4 responses to “Word For Today: Tuesday, September 22 Therefore I Run

  1. Lord Jesus help abstain from all things that can stop me or discalify me from this race. Give me strength and courage. amen.

  2. We must win the race by hard work. Coincidence isn’t going to win the spiritual race. There is a purpose to the spiritual race.

Llene La Parte Inferior de esta Pagina, Si Desea Poner Su Comentarios, Testimonio, Pensamientos (Para El Publico, o sea que aparezcan en esta pagina para que otros puedan leer y ser bendecidos)

